World’s best to contest Slalom World Cup 3 in Augsburg

More than 250 athletes from almost 40 countries will take part in this weekend’s third ICF Canoe Slalom World Cup, held on the site of the 1972 Munich Olympic slalom competition in Augsburg, where canoe slalom made its Olympic debut.

All current World and European champions will be at the start line, including Australia’s 2017 women’s K1 World Champion and Olympic medallist Jessica Fox (NSW).

Fox will look to continue her unbeaten World Cup run, after a record-breaking start to the 2018 World Cup season which has seen her unbeaten in both the women’s C1 and the K1.

Fox won a golden double at the opening World Cup of the season in Slovakia (22-24 June), and then repeated the impressive performance last weekend in Krakow, Poland (29 June – 1 July 2018).

Also at the start line in Augsburg sister Noemie Fox (NSW), who finished an impressive seventh place in the women’s C1 in Krakow last weekend. Rosalyn Lawrence (NSW), who will once again contest the C1 and K1 as well as Kate Eckhard (TAS), who will race the K1, complete the Australian women’s line-up.

In the men’s competition, 2016 Olympian Lucien Delfour (NSW) had a strong start to the 2018 season after finishing fourth in the K1 in Poland. He will be joined in the K1 by teammates Tim Anderson (NSW) and Ben Pope (WA). Dan Watkins (TAS), who finished ninth in the K1 in Poland, will focus on the C1 in Augsburg.

Heats will kick-off from 8:30 CET (16:30 AEST) today with Daniel Watkins (TAS), Brodie Crawford (WA) and Ian Borrows (NSW) lining up in the men’s C1.

The women’s K1 will follow from 9:34 CET (17:34 AEST) with Jessica Fox, Ros Lawrence and Kate Eckhardt.

The women’s C1 and men’s K1 heats are scheduled for the afternoon from 13:45 (21:45 AEST) and 14:37 (22:37) respectively.

Augsburg is the third ICF Canoe Slalom World Cup of the season with five world cups scheduled for 2018, culminating in the world cup final in La Seu, Spain (7 – 9 September 2018).

Augsburg, Germany will wrap up the first round of Slalom World Cups this season, before World Cup #4 will follow in Tacen, Slovenia at the end of August (31 August – 2 September 2018).

This year’s World Championships will return to the Olympic course in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (25-30 September 2018).

2018 ICF Canoe Slalom World Cup 3 – Team Australia

Augsburg – WCUP 3
K1 Men Lucien Delfour (NSW)
Tim Anderson (NSW)
Ben Pope (WA)
C1 Men Daniel Watkins (TAS)
Brodie Crawford (WA)
Ian Borrows (NSW)
K1 Women Jessica Fox (NSW)
Rosalyn Lawrence (NSW)
Kate Eckhardt (TAS)
C1 Women Jessica Fox (NSW)
Rosalyn Lawrence (NSW)
Noemie Fox (NSW)


Follow live stream via

Follow live results here.

Follow the #auspaddleteam via