2024 Canoe Slalom National Championships Come to a Close in Tasmania

The 2024 Paddle Australia Canoe Slalom Championships took place over the weekend at Bradys Lake in Tasmania, with the southern state hosting the national event from April 5-7.

The third and final slalom event of the domestic season saw some of the country’s best paddlers make the trip south to compete across multiple events over three action-packed days of competition.

The Kayak Cross events launched the long-weekend of competition, with champions Dominic Curtin (men) and Ada Mackie (women) named after a full day of racing on Friday.

Saturday saw familiar names atop the podium in the K1 competition, with Paris bound Tim Anderson (men) and Tasmanian paddler Kate Eckhardt (women) claiming the top spots.

Also set to make his Olympic debut this July, Tristan Carter walked away from the weekend as national champion in the C1 category.

“For me, preparation for the Olympics has obviously been the major focus lately,” said Carter.

“Being in April, Nationals is quite a nice race because the pressure is off and it’s more about having fun and racing against your friends.

“Every start line I get on at the moment is so valuable because even though there’s different levels of pressure, it allows you to simulate that Paris experience.

“I spent a great week in Tassie with great mates, had a great race and great trainings so I’m very happy with the experience, I think it was very valuable,” he said.

Melbourne-born Carter has a soft spot for Tasmania, noting he always enjoys his time in the southern state.

“Tasmania is one of my favourite places in Australia so to get the opportunity to go down to Bradys and have a race, let alone a good race, is a lot of fun,” he finished.

For full results, click here.

2024 Paddle Australia Canoe Slalom Championships

Kayak Cross (Men)

  1. Dominic Curtin
  2. Kaylen Bassett
  3. Marle Long

Kayak Cross (Women)

  1. Ada Mackie
  2. Codie Davidson
  3. Claire Clements

K1 (Men)

  1. Timothy Anderson
  2. Benjamin Pope
  3. Dominic Curtin

K1 (Women)

  1. Kate Eckhardt
  2. Sarah Crosbee
  3. Claire Clements

C1 (Men)

  1. Tristan Carter
  2. Kaylen Bassett
  3. Robert Hendrick

C1 (Women)

  1. Kate Eckhardt
  2. Georgia O’Callaghan
  3. Claire Clements


Image credit: Peter Maxwell

Next article2024 Paddle Australia Canoe Marathon and SUP Championships a Success in South Australia