Finalists announced for 2023 AIS Sport Performance Awards

World champions from across swimming, netball, athletics and paddle are just some of the incredible athletes being recognised as finalists for the 2023 AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs).

The ASPAs are the country’s only national awards that celebrate the best and brightest across both able and para sport, with many of the achievements of the 2023 nominees a sign of what Australian sport fans can look forward to at next year’s Paris 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Hosted by Australia’s most decorated female Paralympian Ellie Cole and Olympian Matthew Denny, the ASPAs feature finalists from 26 sports and sporting organisations, including Olympic paddler Jess Fox, the Australian Netball Diamonds, swimmers Mollie O’Callaghan and Alexa Leary, and the undefeated Boccia BC3 Pairs.

Australian Sports Commission CEO Kieren Perkins OAM said the 2023 ASPAs finalists shows the depth and breadth of talent in Australian sport.

“We are so lucky to have such incredible athletes, coaches, volunteers, officials, and sports representing Australia on the world stage. The ASPAs are our opportunity to recognise and celebrate the many outstanding podium performances over the past 12 months,” Mr Perkins said.

“The actions of our athletes this year will live on in the memories of a generation of Australians.

“The ASC is proud to support you on your journey to win well and inspire Australians.”

Paddle Australia is proud to have been nominated as a finalist across six categories, including the prestigious Win Well Award and Athlete of the Year.

“Paddle Australia are thrilled to be named as finalists across six categories in the Australian Sports Performance Awards,” said National Performance Director Kim Crane.

“It has been a history making year for our High-Performance Program, and for our athletes, coaches and performance support staff to be recognised in this way is truly special. Each day we are working to support our athletes to become the world’s best paddlers and people and it takes a whole organisation and paddling community network commitment to do what we do.

“Thank you to the Australian Sports Commission and Australian Institute of Sport for their ongoing support, we look forward to celebrating with our peers from across the sporting system in Melbourne later this month.

The ASPAs winners will be announced in Melbourne on November 29. For more information, visit the ASC website here.


Female Able Athlete of the Year – Jessica Fox

Coach of the Year – Myriam Fox

High Performance Program of the Year – Paddle Australia

Win Well Award – Paddle Australia

Team of the Year – Canoe Slalom Women’s Kayak team

Performance of the Year – Jessica Fox


Previous articleCanoe Polo Teams Announced for Oceania Tour
Next articleMarsh to Continue Defining his Paddling Legacy at Perth World Championships