Mark Crosbee awarded SAHOF Tier 1 Scholarship

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) today announced the exceptional athletes awarded a Tier 1 Scholarship within its 2024 Scholarship & Mentoring Program, with four Olympic gold medal champions, a surfing superstar and one of Australia’s most decorated Australian Rules footballers set to mentor our next generation of sporting stars.

The three-tiered scholarship program, which is backed by the Australian Sports Commission incorporating the Australian Institute of Sport, supports young elite athletes on their journey to excellence and success on the world stage, awarding $150,000 in funding to 32 athletes each year.

The six athletes awarded a Tier 1 Scholarship have been paired with a mentor who is a current member of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame, having been inducted for success in and contribution to their sport.

Canoe Slalom athlete Mark Crosbee has been named as one of the six Tier 1 Scholarship holders, and will be mentored by triple Olympic gold medallist and five-time rowing world champion Drew Ginn OAM, a member of the legendary “Oarsome Foursome”. 

The athletes selected in Tier 1 of the program will receive a $10,000 sporting grant to go towards their training and competition, as well as one-on-one mentoring from these Australian sporting greats to help them reach the highest level in their chosen sport.

“It means so much to become a SAHOF scholarship holder and I am so grateful to be given the opportunity to learn from one of Australia’s greatest athletes,” Crosbee said.

“I can’t wait to learn as much from Drew Ginn as I can about the mental aspects of competing as well as how to deal with life outside of sport while competing.”

Paddle Australia National High Performance Director, Kim Crane congratulated Crosbee.

“Congratulations to Mark on being selected as a Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship recipient for 2024. Mark is a rising star in the sport of Canoe Slalom, and it was fantastic to see him shine on the world stage last year at the Junior World Championships,” she said.

“He’s also shown promise this international season, making his Senior World Cup debut.

“This scholarship is a fantastic recognition of the hard work he continues to put in to succeeding in his chosen sport. We are so excited for Mark and thankful to SAHOF for their ongoing support of our Paddle Australia athletes.”

“It’s wonderful to be able to support an athlete like Mark on his journey,” said Crosbee’s new mentor Drew Ginn.

“Mark has already had an amazing career and it’s inspiring to see his progress in canoe slalom. I am looking forward to learning about him, his aspirations and how I can support him as a mentor.”

Sport Australia Hall of Fame Chair and legend of Australian Sport, John Bertrand AO, said: 

“The Scholarship and Mentoring Program is a powerful, game-changing program serving the broader Australian sporting landscape. Giving our young emerging champions the unique opportunity to have direct access to Australia’s sporting greats is a once in a lifetime opportunity for them to learn from the best of the best, the dream builders.

“This program wouldn’t exist without our Members. There is no further honour than induction into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame. Our Mentors share their personal experiences and wealth of knowledge to encourage these young athletes to excel in their athletic performances, face their fears and have the strength and resilience to pursue their dreams while facing the highs and lows of performing at the elite level. 

“Dawn Fraser AC MBE, Layne Beachley AO, Steve Hooker OAM, Rechelle Hawkes AM, Chris Judd and Drew Ginn OAM – you couldn’t ask for a more decorated or experienced group of Australian champions, and we thank them for volunteering their time and sharing their knowledge and expertise. We welcome all 32 scholarship recipients representing 26 sports into the 2024 program.”

The SAHOF Scholarship & Mentoring Program is supported by the Australian Sports Commission (ASC) incorporating the Australian Institute of Sport.

ASC Chair, Josephine Sukkar AM, congratulated this year’s scholarship recipients. 

“The ASC is proud to support a program that helps elite young athletes from a range of sports including fencing, archery, athletics and more chase their sporting dreams,” she said.

“The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship & Mentoring Program is a wonderful initiative that has seen great success with many athletes going on to represent Australia on the world stage.

“This financial support will no doubt provide extra incentive for young athletes to help them reach the highest level of their chosen sport, and I wish all 2024 scholarship recipients every success with their sporting endeavours.”

The Tier 1 scholarship recipients are: Torrie Lewis (athletics – sprinting); Jackson Harvey (mogul skiing); William Petric (swimming); Amy Lawton (hockey); Jacqueline Swick (rowing); and Mark Crosbee (canoe slalom). 

Previous articleMcGrath Named Paris 2024 Paralympic Co-Captain with One Year To Go
Next articleCEO BLOG – AUGUST 2023