Best Oceania Canoe Polo Players Coming to Penrith

Canoe Polo Australian and Oceania Championships At Penrith Whitewater Stadium (20 – 27 April 2019)

Over 300 of Oceania’s best canoe polo players are heading to Penrith this Easter to contest the 2019 Paddle Australia Canoe Polo Championships with games kicking-off on Saturday, 20 April (20-22 April 2019). The national championships will be followed by the Oceania Canoe Polo Championships next week (25-27 April 2019) which will see 120 of the best canoe polo players of the Oceania region compete for the Julian Carter Cup in the ninth edition of the event that takes place every two years.

At the national championships, paddlers will be competing for the Australian Canoe Polo Championship Trophy, which last year went to Victoria as the best overall performing state at the tournament. South Australia, who hosted the event last year took out Gold in the coveted Open Men’s Category while ACT won the Open women’s event.

“Paddle Australia is very pleased to be hosting this spectacular event in Penrith. Penrith Whitewater Stadium has already hosted the Oceania Championships for Freestyle, Canoe Slalom and Wildwater Sprint this year, showing the multi-use nature of this venue,” Paddle Australia’s president Andrea McQuitty said.

“Canoe Polo plays a significant role in Australian paddling as an elite sport, a great social game and an exciting entry point for people of all ages to paddling. Fast moving and skilful play make it exciting for both players and spectators,” McQuitty added.

“We know that this event will showcase the best of canoe polo, including the qualities of good team work and fair play. We wish all competitors good luck and look forward to seeing everyone on the water.”

Games at the Australian National Championships tournament start on Saturday, 20 April with finals being held Monday, 22 April 2019.

The Oceania Championships start on Thursday, 25 April with finals scheduled for Saturday, 27 April 2019.

See the Australian Oceania Championships teams here:

For more information head to the event webpage here:

Updates can also be followed on the facebook page here:

About the Australian Canoe Polo and Oceania Championships

The Australian Canoe Polo Championships are an annual sporting event that is regarded as the premier and largest participation sporting event for canoe polo in Australia.

The Championships are hosted each year by a different state in Australia on a rotational basis with Paddle NSW hosting this year’s event.

Athletes are selected to represent their home state or territory in the categories of micro junior (under 10 years), Junior (under 18 years), Open Men, Open Women, Veterans (over 35 years) and Masters (over 45 years).

The Oceania Championships take place every second year with the Julian Carter Cup the perpetual trophy awarded at these championships. It recognises the competition between Australia and New Zealand to compete and perform in the most categories at championships.

The cup is named after former Australian canoe polo committee secretary, Julian Carter, a major force behind Australia’s first tour of New Zealand by junior teams in the early 1990s and New Zealand’s first visit to Australia in 1991. The cup recognises the strength of canoe polo across all categories.

Previous cup holders are:

Julian Carter Cup

2003 Brisbane – New Zealand

2005 Christchurch – New Zealand

2007 Adelaide – New Zealand

2009 Penrith – New Zealand

2011 Palmerston North – – New Zealand

2013 Christchurch – Australia

2015 Nagambie – New Zealand

2017 Palmerston North – New Zealand


Friday 19 April

12:00 – 5:00 pm

7:00 pm Referee and team leader briefing

Saturday 20 April


8.30 am Briefing for players, coaches and offials.

9.00 am Games start

Sunday 21 April

8.30 am Games continue

Monday 22 April

8:30 am Games and finals

4:00 pm Medal presentations


  • Open men
  • Open women
  • Youth – U21 men
  • Youth – U21 women
  • Juniors – U16 men/U18 women (mixed) o Veterans – over 30 men and women
  • Masters – over 45 men and women
  • Micro-juniors – U13
  • Mini-micros – U10


Thursday 25 April

7:00 am Referee and team leader briefing
8:00 – 11:00 am Scrutineering

8:30 am Games Start

Friday 26 April

8:30 am Games continue

Saturday 27 April

8:30 am Games and final


  • Senior men
  • Senior women
  • U21 men
  • U18 men
  • Over 30 men and women
  • Over 45 men and women
Previous articlePaddle Australia’s Canoe Slalom Olympians Set An Early Mark Ahead of 2019 World Cup Season
Next articleQueensland Wins State Trophy At Canoe Polo Nationals