2023 Australian Canoe Marathon Teams Announced

Paddle Australia (PA) is pleased to announce the Australian Canoe Marathon Team for 2023.

Following selection at the 2023 PA Canoe Marathon Championships in Geelong earlier this year, PA is pleased to announce the 40 athletes that will represent Australia at the 2023 ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships and Masters Canoe Marathon World Championships in Vejen, Denmark from 28 August – 3 September 2023.

PA Sport Operations Manager Annabelle White offered her congratulations to all athletes selected.

“On behalf of Paddle Australia, I’d like to congratulate those athletes selected in our Australian Canoe Marathon team for 2023,” White said.

“Representing your country at a World Championships is a real honour, and one that I know these athletes will continue to do with pride.

“It’s very exciting to see a lot of World Championships experience in our senior team, along with some new faces ready to make their Australian debuts in the Junior and U23 events.

“To have forty athletes selected to represent the green and gold across all divisions shows the fantastic strength and depth coming through the sport, and we look forward to seeing them in action at the World Championships in late August,” she said.

After dominating this year’s national championships, the team will be headlined by 2023 national champions Joshua Kippin (WA), and Rebecca Mann (VIC).

Mann said she was “very proud as always” to be selected onto her fourth Canoe Marathon national team, which is her eighth Australian Team after wearing the green and gold at the Junior and U23 Canoe Sprint World Championships from 2013 – 2016.

“My lead up this year [to the Australian Championships] was possibly one of my best and I’m happy with the dedication and effort I put into making the team this year – but it’s not over yet, making the team is just the beginning!”

Having placed 11th in the Women’s K1 Short Course and 12th in the K1 Long Course at the 2022 World Championships in Portugal, Mann said she is excited to see what she’s capable of at this year’s event.

“I’ve been to a few world championships before, each time learning something new and getting more experience under my belt. This year is probably the first time that I feel I truly understand what kind of preparation is required, how to race the race strategically and be up there with the top girls,” Mann said.

“I’m not going there to simply participate any more, I’m going there to compete. We’ve got a smaller but stronger team this year and I can’t wait to see us put Aussies back on the marathon map.”

Mann will be competing in the Women’s K1 long course and short course in Vejen, as well as the K1 alongside U23 athlete Hannah Scott (VIC).

“I’m heading to Denmark at the end of July to train with the Silkeborg squad for a month leading up to Worlds,” Mann said. “My K2 partner, Hannah, will be there too so we will take the opportunity to get in the double and sharpen our skills.”

Prior to the Junior, U23 and Senior World Championships getting underway, Australia will be represented by 19 Masters athletes, including 70-year-old Terry Bolland, who made history last year for paddling 365 days in a row to raise money for prostate cancer research.

2023 Australian Canoe Marathon Teams

Junior, U23 & Senior World Championships (31 August – 3 September, Vejen, Denmark)

Senior Men
David Cole (VIC) & Joaquin Cuevas Perea (VIC) – Long Course K2
Coran Longwood (WA) & Stephan Weyers (WA) – Long Course K2
Josh Kippin (WA) – Short Course K1, Long Course K1
Gergely Nagy (WA) – Short Course C1, Long Course C1 

Senior Women
Hannah Scott (VIC) & Rebecca Mann (VIC) – Long Course K2
Rebecca Mann (VIC) – Short Course K1, Long Course K1
Kate Leverett (VIC) – Short Course K1
Reka Abraham (VIC) – Short Course C1, Long Course C1 

Under 23 Men
Stephan Weyers (WA) – Long Course K1
Harry Hewitt (WA) – Long Course K1 

Under 23 Women
Brianna Jones (VIC) – Long Course K1
Hannah Scott (VIC) – Long Course K1 

Junior Men
Lachlan Dal Sasso (VIC) & Aidan Han (VIC) – Long Course K2
Llewellyn Bassett (QLD) & Ziko Vesely (NSW) – Long Course K2
Aidan Han (VIC) – Long Course K1
Ziko Vesely (NSW) – Long Course K1 

Junior Women
Isabella Parish (VIC) & Emma Murray (VIC) – Long Course K2
Emma Murray (VIC) – Long Course K1
Chelsea Sutton (NSW) – Long Course K1 

Masters World Championships (28-29 August, Vejen, Denmark)

Ann Lloyd-Green (NSW)
Brett Greenwood (NSW)
Cathy Venning (SA)
Craig Elliott (NSW)
Daniela Torre (NSW)
Darren Lee (NSW)
David Berglund (WA)
Dominic Scarfe (VIC)
Geoffery Horsnell (NSW)
John Young (VIC)
Laura Lee (NSW)
Lisa Newton (VIC)
Lucinda Remilton (SA)
Lyn McKenzie (QLD)
Mark Rickard (QLD)
Michael Wilson (VIC)
Pauline Findlay (NSW)
Terry Bolland (WA)
Tony Bond (VIC) 

Next articlePaddle Australia launches LGBTQ Inclusion Policy