2020 Team Management – Expression of Interest

Expressions of Interest are now open for 2020 Team Management for the following teams and positions: 2020 PA Wildwater Canoeing Team - Team Manager    ...

Fox and McGrath Headline Paddle Australia 2019 Annual Awards

Paddle Australia Annual Awards 2019, Saturday, 9 November 2019 World number one and 2019 double World Cup winner Jessica Fox as well as double...

Australia Wraps Up Shaoxing With Another Top Ten Result

Australia wrapped up its 2019 ICF canoe marathon world championships experience with some encouraging performances in the men’s and women’s K2 on the final...

Leverett Clocks Up Another Top-Ten Finish At Marathon World Championships

Kate Leverett had her second top-ten finish for the week as she continued to surprise herself at the ICF canoe marathon world championships in...

Young Australians Learn Plenty At Marathon World Championships

There were strong performances and plenty of learning experiences for the younger members of the Australian canoe marathon team at the ICF world championships...

Marathon Racing involves paddling over long distances, on either the flatwater of lakes, and dams, or the flowing water of a river. Australia has many long rivers well suited for Marathon canoeing.  Traditional Marathon Racing competitions, like the World Cup and World Championships, involve a fixed flatwater course with regular portages, where the paddler must carry the canoe or kayak. National Championships are raced over approximately 38-42km.

The longest Marathon Race in Australia is the VicSuper Murray Marathon where competitors will paddle from Yarrawonga to Swan Hill a distance of 404km over five days to help raise funds for the YMCA.


January 2019

There are no events that match your search

Canoe Marathon Technical Committee Contacts

Chair – Jeremy Dunn – jerrydunn.marathon@gmail.com

Member – Joe Alia

Member – Bob Turner

Member – Margi Bohm

Member – vacant

Secretary – vacant