coaching framework

Australian Canoeing is currently preparing a new coach accreditation scheme, which applies to all canoe/kayak disciplines. Called the Coach Development Pathway (see above), there are four proficiency levels:

  • Foundation coach;
  • Development coach;
  • Performance coach; and
  • Podium coach.

Foundation is equivalent to the current level 1 training and Development to the current level 2. The Performance and Podium qualifications are new and focused on preparing our national coaches. Existing level 1 and 2 qualifications remain valid but the new levels will be phased in over the next year or two.

For more information contact Australian Canoeing ( or (02) 9763 0670).