National Canoe Polo Champions to be crowned in Ballarat this Weekend

Teams from right around Australia have congregated in Ballarat, Victoria for the 2023 Paddle Australia Canoe Polo Championships, to be held from 7 – 9 April.

Nineteen teams from Victoria, NSW, ACT, South Australia, Queensland and Tasmania will be playing for state glory over the weekend. With over 100 athletes competing, the field has been distributed across multiple age categories adjusted to ensure a challenging level of competition, although only teams in the Under-21, Open, Womens and Masters divisions will be competing for medal placings.

At the 2022 Championships, ACT won a historic gold in the Men’s Open division which they will no doubt be looking to emulate, while Queensland will be looking to defend their state title from last year’s Championships as the top performing state.

Before the competition gets underway on Lake Wendouree, we’ve got you covered with everything you need to know including schedules and how to stay up to date.

  1. When is the 2023 PA Canoe Polo Championships being held?

The national Canoe Polo Championships get underway at 1pm on Friday 7 April, with the Victorian Women’s team taking on ACT A on field 1, while the ACT B women’s team will take on Queensland on field 2.

There will be a full day of competition on Saturday 8 April, with the U21, Women’s and Open Australian Champions will be crowned on Sunday afternoon.

  1. Where can I follow the draw and results?

The competition draw is live now, and results will be updated daily HERE

  1. Where can I find out more information about the event?

More information on the event, including important competition details in the event guide are  HERE

  1. How can I see who is competing?

On the event website, click ‘TEAMS’ to see the full line-up of athletes representing your home state.

  1. How can I stay up-to-date with all the latest news and highlights?

Follow us on social media:

Next articleCanoe Marathon and SUP Paddlers in Geelong for Australian and Oceania Championships