Paddle Australia (PA) is pleased to confirm the Australian Canoe Sprint and Para Canoe teams for 2022.

Earlier this year, PA announced the 21 athletes who had been selected to the Senior, Paracanoe and U23 teams for 2022 (click here for more).

An additional group of athletes were given an opportunity to qualify through an invitational race off, which was held in mid-April.

Following this, Noah Havard (NSW) and Pierre van der Westhuyzen (QLD) have now been selected to the team which will compete on the 2022 ICF Canoe Sprint World Cup circuit and at the 2022 ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships.

PA National Performance Director Kim Crane was pleased to confirm the final selections to the Senior National team.

“On behalf of Paddle Australia, I am excited to finally confirm our full list for the 12-strong Senior Canoe Sprint National team for the upcoming international season,” Crane said. 

“I know that these athletes selected will wear the green and gold with enormous pride. I’m particularly thrilled for those who are making their senior debut and am genuinely excited to see them embrace this opportunity to travel, prepare and then compete on the world stage.

“A special thanks must go to the selectors – Lyndsie Fogarty and Steve Bird – for all their input and commitment to the lengthy process.

“And to our Coaches –  both within Paddle Australia and the State Institute and Academy National Network – who have shown enormous courage and resilience staying agile and focused whilst continually striving for progress, navigating complexities together with the athletes and the wider High Performance Program and System support staff over the last two years,” she said.

Along with the Senior National Canoe Sprint team, Crane was pleased to present the seven athletes that will form the Para Canoe World Cup and World Championship team for 2022.

Dual Paralympian Susan Seipel will be joined by Kathleen O’Kelly-Kennedy (WA), Amy Ralph (WA), Mark Daniels (WA), Dylan Littlehales (NSW), John Maclean (NSW) and Ben Sainsbury (WA) for the 2022 international season. 

“Australia has had strong success at an international level in Para Canoe in recent years, and I’m pleased to announce that we will have seven athletes that will contest the Para Canoe World Cup and World Championships this year which is a large team.” Crane said.

“Our Para Canoe team is a great mix of experience and youth, and I’m looking forward to seeing them in action in the upcoming international season. I know how hard they have been working in training, so I believe we will see some really strong performances.” she said.

The U23 World Championships team will be finalised following the 2022 PA Canoe Sprint Championships in Adelaide in mid-May.

Selections were made in accordance with the PA Selection Policy – click here

Paddle Australia congratulate the following athletes on their selection:

Senior World Cup / World Championships Team
Fletcher Armstrong (NSW)

Lachlan Armstrong (WA)

Jackson Collins (NSW)

Tom Green (QLD)

Noah Havard (NSW)

Jean van der Westhuyzen (QLD)

Pierre van der Westhuyzen (QLD)

Ella Beere (NSW)

Alyssa Bull (QLD)

Alexandra Clarke (QLD)

Georgia Sinclair (NSW)

Yale Steinepreis (WA)


Paracanoe World Cup / World Championships Team
Mark Daniels (WA)

Dylan Littlehales (NSW)

John Maclean (NSW)

Ben Sainsbury (WA)

Kathleen O’Kelly-Kennedy (WA)

Amy Ralph (WA)

Susan Seipel (QLD)


U23 World Championships Team
Fletcher Armstrong (NSW)

Bailey Connolly (NSW)

Tom Green (QLD)

Noah Havard (NSW)

Benjamin Manning (QLD)

Toby Schooley (NSW)

Alexandra Clarke (QLD)

Natalia Drobot (NSW)

Jasmine Locke (NSW)

Georgia Sinclair (NSW)


Previous articleAustralian Canoe Marathon Champions crowned on the Gold Coast
Next articleCEO Blog – April 2022