Paddlers Feature In 2020 Women in Sport Photo Action Awards

Finalists announced for 2020 Women in Sport Photo Action Awards

Two paddle images of Paddle Australia’s Olympic canoe slalom g.o.a.t. Jessica Fox as well as Olympic first-timer and women canoeists Josephine Bulmer feature amongst the finalist images which have been named today for the 2020 Women in Sport Photo Action Awards – #WISPAA.

Featured amongst powerhouse female athletes such Ash Barty, Sam Kerr and Tayla Harris, Jessica Fox’s photo taken by Penrith photographer John Rohloff – JGR Images is featured in the professional category.

‘Fox-ated on Tokyo’ – John Rohloff, JGR Images (NSW), Courtesy of Women Sport Australia and #WISPAA

“Being listed as a finalist is a huge thrill, especially when you consider that I’m in the company of some of the world’s best sports photographers,” John Rohloff said.

“I’m grateful to Paddle Australia for giving me the opportunity to get up close and personal with the Australian paddlers. Canoe Slalom is an amazing sport and I look forward to capturing more on-water action during the upcoming summer season.”

Josephine Bulmer’s shot taken by South Australian Institute of Sport Sport Scientist Sarah Woolford is featured in the amateur category.

‘Power On’ – Sarah Woolford (SA), Courtesy of Women Sport Australia and #WISPAA

Sports captured by the finalists include: AFLW, Basketball, Beach Volleyball, Boxing, Canoeing, Cricket, Cycling, Gymnastics, Horse Racing, Netball, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Soccer, Speedway, Surfing, Surf Lifesaving, Swimming, Tennis, Touch Footy, Track & Field.

The winners will be announced on Friday 3 July. In 2020 there is also an online People’s Choice Awards Competition, you can cast your vote HERE:

Amateur Category: Courtesy of Women Sport Australia and #WISPAA

Judges Senator Richard Colbeck – Minister for Sport, writer and journalist Samantha Lane, Getty Photographer Ryan Pierse and Women Sport Australia President Carol Fox had a tough job examining hundreds of powerful entries received in the #WISPAA awards and selecting 15 amateur finalists and 15 professional finalists.

Women Sport Australia President Carol Fox was excited to see the standard of both the amateur and professional categories was once again extremely impressive with #WISPAA in its second year.

“I am so proud that Women Sport Australia have been able to deliver this competition again in 2020. The images chosen as #WISPAA finalists are those which portray the athleticism, strength and skill of Australia’s female athletes competing at all levels from club to elite,” Fox said.

“It’s fantastic to see so many of last year’s WISPAA entrants back again this year as finalists – last year’s professional winner Michael Willson and Tayla Harris have reunited for another great photo, this time in Boxing! I’m also thrilled that there are 20 different sports represented across all of the finalist images.”

#WISPAA creator Louise Evans, OAM, said she conceived and launched #WISPAA to help showcase Australia’s sportswomen as role models and leaders.

“All the sportswomen portrayed in the 30 finalists’ images are role models – to their family, their team and their community,” said Evans, WSA’s former Communications Director.

“The energy and power captured in these images will hopefully encourage more women and girls to get out off the couch, be more active and be part of a healthier and happier Australia where women are valued and respected.”

The amateur finalists (by photographer name, state and sport) are: Casey Sims (QLD), Track & Field; Matthew Long (NSW), Touch Football; Stephanie Cornelli (VIC), AFLW; Glen Braithwaite (ACT), Track & Field; Geoff Tripp (NSW), Basketball; Johan Schmidt (WA), Netball and Rugby Union; Mason Hender (VIC), Cycling; Sarah Woolford (SA), Canoeing; Gavin Skene (NSW), Speedway; Malcolm Trees (NSW), Surf Lifesaving; Olivier Rachon (VIC), Beach Volleyball; Philip Barnes (WA), AFLW; Natalie Hanna (NSW), Track & Field; Mark Button (QLD), Surfing.

The professional finalists (by photographer name, state and sport) are: Karen Watson (NSW), Rugby Union (2) and Track & Field; Quinn Rooney (VIC), Cricket; John Rohloff (NSW), Canoeing; Michael Willson (VIC), Boxing; Reg Ryan (VIC) Horse Racing; Rachel Bach (VIC), Soccer; Kathryn Watt (VIC), Cricket; James Gourley (NSW), Tennis; Delly Carr (NSW), Swimming; Scott Barbour (VIC), Netball and Gymnastics; Matt Blyth (NSW), Rugby League; Marina Neil (NSW), Rugby Union.

Courtesy of Women Sport Australia and #WISPAA

Winners of the professional and the amateur categories will each receive $500 from #WISPAA partner Quality Mind Global who are passionate and excited to support the visibility of women in sport in Australia.

“Quality Mind Global are dedicated to making sure all athletes perform at their very best, both mentally and physically, and we have loved working with female athletes around the world to improve their performance. We’re excited to be involved with #WISPAA and we can’t wait to see who the winners are for 2020!” Said Quality Mind Global CEO, Richard Maloney.

You can also view all the finalists’s images on Women Sport Australia’s website and social media channels – Website, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

#WISPAA is a product of Women Sport Australia (WSA), the peak national advocacy body for women in sport. Become a WSA member by clicking here.