Paddlers Recognised in NSWIS-Awards Finalists Announcement

National Team Paddlers Recognised in NSWIS-Awards Finalists Announcement

A world-class list of finalists has been announced for the 2019 NSWIS Awards, set to be held on Thursday 14th November at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Several of Australia’s most decorated sporting individuals, including five paddlers, will be united in celebration of the collective efforts of NSWIS athletes, coaches, staff and partners, following an exceptional 12 months of competition.

2018 winners Jessica Fox will be looking for back-to-back honours in the Office of Sport Female Athlete of the Year award and several other Paddler Australia canoe sprint and canoe slalom paddlers and coaches are also among the nominees.

Jessica Fox successfully defended both her canoe slalom C1 and K1 world cup titles in 2019 and will go up against the likes of Para Alpine Super Combined world champion Melissa Perrine, as well as Australia’s five-time medallist at the 2019 FINA World Aquatics Championships Cate Campbell.

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – NOVEMBER 15: 2018 NSWIS Awards at Sydney Cricket Ground on November 15, 2018 in Sydney, Australia.. (Photo by Jason McCawley/Getty Images)

More than competitive results are celebrated at the 2019 NSWIS Awards, with two accolades honouring the personal and professional endeavours of athletes. Balancing a career in sport with these commitments is a key focus of the Athlete Wellbeing & Engagement team at the NSW Institute of Sport.

Canoe slalom national team paddlers Tim Anderson and Noemie Fox are both nominated for The University of Sydney Academic Excellence award. The award acknowledges the wide array of university-level education athletes often pursue during their careers.

London 2012 Olympian, canoe sprint paddler and paramedic Jo Brigden-Jones features as a finalist in the Powerade Personal Excellence award category, which celebrates progression across an athlete’s professional career, education and/or personal development.

After a stellar 12 months for Paddle Australia’s NSWIS athletes on the canoe slalom circuit, national team women’s coach Myriam Fox and last year’s coach of the year recipient is once again amongst the finalists in the Southern Design Coach of the Year.

Five NSWIS sports programs, including canoe slalom, have been named as finalists in the Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year, awarded to the sport that has delivered significant performances, results and development.

For a full list of NSWIS awards and nominess see here:

2019 NSWIS Awards Finalists

Office of Sport Female Athlete of the Year
Jakara Anthony Winter Sports
Cate Campbell OAM Swimming
Jessica Fox Canoe Slalom
Melissa Perrine Winter Sports
Georgina Rowe & Leah Saunders Rowing
 The University of Sydney Academic Excellence
Tim Anderson Canoe Slalom
Rohan Browning Athletics
Noemie Fox Canoe Slalom
Harriet Hudson Rowing
James Matheson Winter Sports
Powerade Personal Excellence
Jo Brigden-Jones Canoe Sprint
Sam Fricker Diving
Matthew Graham Winter Sports
Nicholas Hough Athletics
Kaarle McCulloch Cycling
Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year
Canoe Slalom
Water Polo – Women
Winter Sports
Southern Design Coach of the Year
Simon Cusack Swimming
Myriam Fox Canoe Slalom
Adam Kable Swimming
Peter McNiel Winter Sports
Rebecca Rippon Water Polo – Women
Previous articleAustralia Wraps Up Shaoxing With Another Top Ten Result
Next articleStrong AUS line-up at 2019 ICF Stand Up Paddling World Championship