Five Medal Haul For Australian Paddlers at Ocean Racing World Championships

An U23 women’s gold medal to Jemma Smith and a men’s bronze medal for Cory Hill were just two of the highlights on an outstanding day of racing for the Australian team at the ICF canoe ocean racing world championships in Saint-Pierre de Quiberon, France, on Wednesday.

Brianna Massie picked up a silver behind Smith in the women’s U23 race, Jazmin Shipway-Carr picked up a silver in the women’s junior competition, and Noah Havard was third in the men’s U23.

Along with the medals there were many other top-ten performances, including Tom Norton’s sixth and Mackenzie Hynard’s eight in the men’s race, and Georgia Laird’s sixth and Bonnie Hancock’s seventh in the women’s race.

In the U23, Georgia Sinclair was fourth and Montennah Murray seventh in the women’s race, while Nathan Neale was fifth in the men’s race and Kent Jenkinson eighth.

Nathan Neale

In the juniors, Ben Rees was the best-placed Australian in the men’s race, finishing eighth, while Patrick Eley was tenth, while in the women’s Nicci Vesely was ninth.

Hill was hoping to win a third consecutive men’s title, but had to settle for third behind South Africa’s Rice brothers, Sean and Kenny.

“Consistency is one of the main things in this sport, and to keep on the podium I’m pretty happy,” Hill said.

“But obviously losing my world title for the first time since 2015, with Sean winning it back after 2013, that hurts a little. But at the same time, he’s a good mate and a good guy, he put it out there and he was super tough, so he deserves it.

“At the end of the day, you’ve got to be able to race. You’ve got these great competitors here, and you have to keep putting your best foot forward all the time and backing up and backing up, and win lose or draw you have to be proud of your performance.
“I’m happy, it was tough, but that’s the name of the game. Believe me, I’ll be back next year.”

Jemma Smith came off a strong performance at the U23 canoe sprint world championships to land an ocean racing U23 gold on Wednesday, finishing fourth overall in a cracking field that contained Olympians and world champions.

“It was very exciting – a long way, but quite enjoyable towards the end when I saw the finish and to do so well,” Smith said.

“I had absolutely no idea where I was. At about the four-kilometer mark everybody split and went their own way, and from then you’ve got boys coming past you, and you have no idea where anyone is. You just hope you’ve picked the right line and you’ll end up at the finish line.”

The ICF Canoe Ocean Racing World Championships continue on Thursday night with the masters competition.

Find out more about the World Championships on the local event website:

Follow live tracking and results HERE.

ICF event website:

Schedule – Times CET (AEST +8hrs)

12/09/2019 – THURSDAY
12h 30m – Shuttle Arrival Gâvres beach
14h :30m – 15h – Race start
First start: Para canoe (7)
Second start : W Masters (32)
Third start : M Masters M5/M8 (73)
Fourth start : M Masters M1/M4 (102)

Team Australia at the 2019 ICF Ocean Racing World Championships
Open Women
Bonnie Hancock 7th
Georgia Laird 6th
Elizabeth Wise 19th
Fiona Tschault 21st

Open Men
Cory Hill 3rd
Tom Norton 6th
Mackenzie Hynard 8th
Sam Norton 10th
Michael Booth 12th
Sam Djodan broken rudder cable

U23 Women
Jemma Smith 1st
Brianna Massey 2nd
Georgia Sinclair 4th
Montannah Murray 7th
Brianna Tier 12th
Sari Bone 16th

U23 Men
Noah Havard 3rd
Nathan Neale 5th
Kent Jenkinson 8th
Oscar Jones 13th
Devon Caren 21st
James Ekins 37th
Ben Walker 41st

U18 men
Ben Rees 8th
Patrick Eley 10th
Josh Murphy 18th
Hayden Smart 25th

U18 Women
Jazmin Shipway-Carr 2nd
Nicci Vessely 9th
India-Rose Sheppard 13th

Age Category         First Name               Surname                      State

OPENM Michael Booth – 10 WA
OPENM Samuel Djodan – N/A breakag NSW
OPENW Bonnie Hancock – 7 QLD
OPENM Cory Hill – 3 WA
OPENM Mackenzie Hynard – 8 NSW
OPENW Georgia Laird – 6 QLD
OPENM Sam Norton – 11 TAS
OPENM Tom Norton – 6 TAS
OPENW Elizabeth Wise – 19 NSW
U23W Sari Bone – 16 NSW
U23W Devon Caren – 22 WA
U23M James Ekins – 38 NSW
U23M Noah Havard – 3 NSW
U23M Kent Jenkinson – 8 WA
U23M Oscar Jones – 14 NSW
U23W Brianna Massie – 2 QLD
U23M Montannah Murray – 7 NSW
U23M Nathan Neale – 5 NSW
U23W Georgia Sinclair – 4 NSW
U23W Jemma Smith – 1 NSW
U23W Brianna Tier – 12 NSW
U23M Ben Walker – 41 NSW
U18M Patrick Eley – 10 WA
U18M Josh Murphy – 18 NSW
U18M Ben Rees – 8 NSW
U18W India-Rose Sheppard – 13 WA
U18W Jazmin Shipway – 2 WA
U18M Hayden Smart – 25 NSW
U18W Nicci Vesely – 9 NSW
35-39 Mitchell Coffey NSW
35-39 Guy Gilchrist NSW
40-44 Kate Atkinson WA
40-44 Kylie Hirst QLD
40-44 Daniel Jenkin NSW
40-44 William Lee WA
40-44 Alexandra Lloyd QLD
40-44 Ben Lloyd QLD
40-44 Rozetta Payne NSW
40-44 Fi Tschaut NSW
45-49 Robert Bird NSW
45-49 David Jepsen NSW
45-49 Matthew Rees NSW
45-49 Sally Trestrail QLD
45-49 Jimmy Walker NSW
50-54 Madeline Baxter WA
50-54 Todd Boreland NSW
50-54 David Knight QLD
50-54 Michael McKeogh NSW
50-54 Vanessa Mercer QLD
50-54 Mich O’Connor VIC
50-54 Quona Ross Atkinson QLD
50-54 Jamie Stubbs TAS
50-54 Gareth Wright WA
55-59 Kathleen Allen NSW
55-59 Brian Burgess WA
55-59 Tim Cornish WA
55-59 Jannion Di Tommaso NSW
55-59 Jules Hall NSW
55-59 Julie Jenkinson WA
55-59 Robert Jenkinson WA
55-59 Mike Mills-Thom NSW
55-59 Jeremy Norton TAS
55-59 Laurelle Stalker VIC
60-64 Kim Bingham WA
60-64 Sandra Gadsby TAS
60-64 Leanne Lewis WA
60-64 Steve Steward NSW
60-64 Mike Woodborne WA
65-69 Ron Clarke WA
65-69 Garry Gilchrist NSW
65-69 Mark Gillett NSW
65-69 Peter Kennett NSW
65-69 Stuart Tennant WA
70+ David Norton WA
Previous articleHill Ready to Defend Ocean Racing World Title
Next articleOlympic Hopes and Champion Support for Australia’s Future Paddling Stars