Australian Canoeing Inc. 62^m Annual General Meeting Minutes



Held on 12th November 2011 at NSWIS, 6A Figtree Drive, Sydney Olympic Park

Attendees List (see attached)

Meeting opened at 09.37 a.m.

- 1. Australian Canoeing (AC) Chair, Danielle Woodward, opened the meeting and welcomed all attendees. A special welcome was extended to our Life Members present, delegates and visitors to the meeting.
- 2. A roll call of voting delegates identified
 - John Borojevic (Tasmania),
 - Rosalie Evans (Western Australia),
 - Jerry Dunn (Queensland),
 - Ian Hume (South Australia),
 - Tony Hystek (PaddleNSW).

The Chair gave an explanation of the voting procedures for the meeting. Apologies for their absence were received from Greg Kaeding, Mike Bell and Helen Brownlee.

- 3. The Motion to approve the Minutes of the 61st Annual General Meeting as a true record of the meeting was moved by John Borojevic (Tasmania), and seconded by Rosalie Evans (Canoe WA). The motion was carried unanimously.
- 4. The Chair gave her report to the meeting. Her report is included in the Annual Report. The main points were:
 - AC financial stability during 2010-2011 relating to:
 - Modest sponsorship agreements with Renault, Vajda and AC Paddlepals.

- Marketing strategies still need some work:
 - Increasing our IT capabilities via Facebook and Youtube.
 - Venturing into Ocean Racing a new and growing discipline.
- Affiliation Fee Working Group, becoming part of our reporting.
- Welcoming Canoe Victoria back due to financial modelling which is now sustainable.
- We continuing our relationships with SIS/SAS. A new Executive Officer at the ASC Simon Hollingsworth has been appointed and soon there will be a new Executive Officer at the AIS.
- 2010-11 brought some great Results:
 - Jessica Fox in Canoe Slalom and Youth Olympic Festival.
 - Sprint girls showing what a great future Australia has with Jo Bridgen-Jones ranked number one.
 - High Performance and pathways to success in the lead up to London Games.
 - The conduct of events such as the Ultra Marathon.
- Congratulations to Helen Brownlee (AC Life Member) being appointed as a Life Member of the AOC this year.
- Paying Tribute to Walter Brown and Graham Halford (minute silence)

The Chair concluded her Report with thanks to Robbie Stewart, James Rennell, Martyn Clancy-Lowe, Jim Murphy and Keith Lyons for all their hard work. Thanking all AC Staff - Greg Doyle, Richard Roach, Richard Fox, Mary, Laura, Asha, Ros, Sam and High Performance team.

5. The 2011-2012 Annual Report was presented including the Audited Financial Accounts. The audited financial statements of Australian Canoeing for the year ended 30 June 2011 were tabled. The surplus for the year was \$45,116 (2010; \$22,028) and the net financial position was \$88,216 (2010; \$43,010). The Financial Controller Richard Roach gave a presentation that provided detail on various line items in the financial report, and answered questions from the attendees of the meeting.

A motion that the Audited Financial Statements as presented be adopted was moved by Tony Coventry (Victoria), and seconded by Tony Hystek (PaddleNSW). The motion was accepted unanimously.

Greg Doyle thanked Richard Roach for all his hard work, attention to detail and his understanding of how AC works.

- 6. Voting members elected the President and Interested Directors. Sharon Swobada and Joan Morison acted as scrutineers for the secret ballot for these elections. Three Interested Directors whose term of office had expired sought re-election to the Board. Danielle Woodward, Keith Lyons and Martyn Clancy-Lowe were re-elected unanimously. Martin Finn (South Australia) thanked the AC Board for all their hard work and that the AC community has confidence in what they are doing.
- 7. There were no nominees for Life Membership this year.
- 8. There was a Notices of Motion for this meeting.

MOTION:

In relation to Part VI, Section 33.3 "Technical Committees" of the AC Constitution:

- (a) Add the following wording "(viii) Ocean Racing";
- (b) Replace the following wording "(iv) Flatwater Racing" with "(iv) Sprint Racing"

With the above amendments the section will read:

"33.3 Technical Committees

- (a) The Board shall establish the following Technical Committees ("Technical Committees") under this power of delegation:
 - (i) Education;
 (ii) Canoe Polo;
 (iii) Marathon Racing;
 (iv) Sprint Racing;
 (v) Slalom Racing;
 (vi) Wildwater Racing;
 (vii) Freestyle;
 (viii) Ocean Racing;"

PURPOSE OF MOTION:

This motion will bring AC in-line with the ICF Statutes as "Ocean Racing" is a discipline of the ICF and "Flatwater" has been replaced with the wording "Sprint".

It was accepted anomalously.

There being no more business the meeting ended at 10.30 a.m.

Australian Canoeing Inc. 62nd AGM Attendees



Attendee	Member Status	Voting Delegate
Danielle Woodward	President AC	No
lan Hume	Canoe South Australia	Yes
John Borojevic	Canoe Tasmania	Yes
Tony Coventry	Canoe Victoria	Yes
Rosalie Evans	Canoeing WA	Yes
Tony Hystek	PaddleNSW	Yes
Jerry Dunn	Queensland Canoeing	Yes
Keith Lyons	AC Board	No
Jim Murphy	AC Board	No
Robbie Stewart	AC Board	No
Martyn Clancy-Lowe	AC Board	No
James Rennell	AC Board	No
Greg Doyle	CEO AC	No
Richard Roach	AC Staff	No
Mary Macaluso	AC Staff	No
Laura Dunn	AC Staff	No
Asha Venkataya	AC Staff	No

Attendee	Member Status	Voting Delegate
Richard Fox	AC High Performance	No
Andrea Wood	AC High Performance	No
Martin Finn	Canoe Marathon TC	No
Noel Holmes	Canoe Polo TC	No
lan Heard	Canoe SA	No
Peter Duong	Canoe SA	No
Peter Grant	Canoe Slalom TC	No
Andrea McQuitty	Canoe Tasmania	No
Andrea Boothroyd	Canoe Victoria	No
Sharon Swoboda	Canoe Victoria	No
Sarah Aulin	Canoeing WA	No
Jason Dicker	Education & Safety TC	No
Joan Morison	Life Member	No
Lynn Parker	Paddle NSW	No
Mark Thurgood	QLD Canoeing	No
Bruce Morison	Visitor	No